Adrian Parr

Adrian Parr is the Chair of Taft Faculty and Director of the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center ( She is an Associate Professor in the Department of Sociology and the School of Architecture and Interior Design at the University of Cincinnati. Her research focuses on environmental politics, social and political theory, and contemporary culture. In 2011 she received the distinguished Rieveschl Award for Scholarly and Creative Practice. In 2013, she and Prof. Dion Dionysiou were appointed as UNESCO Co-Chairs of Water Access and Sustainability. She has published numerous articles and books, the most recent being The Wrath of Capital: Neoliberalism and Climate Change Politics (Columbia University Press, 2013). She is one of the founding editors of the online peer review journal Drain: Journal of Contemporary Art and Culture (


Michael Zaretsky

Michael Zaretsky is an Associate Professor in the School of Architecture and Interior Design (SAID) in the College of Design, Architecture, Art and Planning (DAAP) at the University of Cincinnati. He is also a licensed Architect, a LEED Accredited Professional and a consultant on sustainable and humanitarian design. His research is focused around culturally, economically, technologically and environmentally responsive design for communities in need. His published work includes the book Precedents in Zero-Energy Design: Architecture and Passive Design in the 2007 Solar Decathlon (Routledge Press, 2009) and he is co-editor (with Dr. Adrian Parr) of New Directions in Sustainable Design (Routledge Press, 2010). Zaretsky’s research includes being the director of the Roche Health Center Design Committee with the non-profit organization Village Life Outreach Project (, which has overseen the design and construction the first-ever permanent health care facility in Roche, Tanzania. He is also affiliated with CoreChange Cincinnati (, a Cincinnati-based non-profit that fosters systemic solutions to addressing urban poverty and its effects.